Who is Traditional Credit Union?

The Traditional Credit Union (TCU) is a Mutual Authorised Deposit-taking Institution that provides banking products and services.  TCU occupies a unique position as the only Indigenous-owned credit union in Australia, working in two worlds to deliver both employment opportunities and real financial services in remote indigenous communities.  We are proud of where we have come from and who we are, and we are passionate about where we are going.

TCU has branches across the Northern Territory and more than 7000 members.  A total of 80 per cent of TCU’s employees are Indigenous and all branch employees in the communities are Indigenous and live on country.  TCU is a current card provider for the Cashless Debit Card and Cashless Debit Card account that supports the Australian Government’s Cashless Debit Card program and provides customer support services to program participants.